Uncategorized

Book Review: Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur


3 out of 5 stars

I decided to step outside of my comfort zone with this book. I have never been a fan of poetry. I’ve always found it boring and it was just never my cup of tea. After all those negative feelings toward poetry, I decided to pick this up anyway. Every where I turned I kept seeing rave reviews about it and decided maybe it wont be so bad, and I was right.

While I wouldn’t say I enjoyed the book, I didn’t hate it either. I think what mainly grabbed my attention was the layout of the book. When I was growing up Shel Silverstein poems were very popular in my elementary classrooms. The black and white drawings along with the poems created a nostalgic feeling for me. I thought his poems were silly and relateable at the time, which is what I found the case in Milk and Honey. The poems were very relateable. I honestly don’t know if I would have felt this way 5-6 years ago, but through life experiences I found myself within the various poems.

I’ve never been a fan of really short books, especially if I am spending my own money on them. Sometimes if it finishes too quickly I feel as if I’ve missed something. It took me only about 40 mins to read this from beginning to end. It just all felt uneventful to me. 

I’ve never understood poetry, mostly I never felt much of anything while reading it. This book made me feel things, which is why I gave it 3 stars, but I think overall it is just not for me. I am glad I read it. A lot of the poems I believe are important for women and men. It is insight on being female and perhaps into life experiences you haven’t experienced yourself.

Has anyone else read this? What did you think? 

Leave a Reply

