Uncategorized

Reading Multiple Books

A while ago, I posted here about reading multiple books at once. At the time, I found myself incapable of doing just that. In my mind I thought it would be difficult to keep all of the stories straight. It has been in the past month that I have found that I actually get more reading done by reading more than one book at a time. It is thanks to Kindles, audiobooks, and hard copies that throughout the day I am able to switch between stories.

Until December, I had barely touched my Kindle. When I decided to try to read on it, it wouldn’t work. Luckily, Christmas came around and my husband purchased me a Kindle Paperwhite. I began borrowing titles from my library. I absolutely love it, I don’t know why it took me so long to finally get into e-books. No, they cannot replace an actual book, but they come in handy when feeding the babies or simply wanting to bring along reading material without the bulk of a book. It is lightweight so when I only have one free hand, I am able to continue reading.

Thanks to Audible, I fell in love with audiobooks. I had Audible once in the past but, I never really got into it. I wanted to try it again. Being a stay at home mom, there are times when I simply don’t even have a free hand, but would like to continue reading, that is when an audiobook steps in. They are also great when driving. After using my monthly Audible credit, i take audiobooks out from the library as well. They are so convenient.

Then, of course, i still read actual copies of books. No matter how convenient Kindles and audiobooks are, they will never compare to an actual book.

I feel that reading multiple books prevents me from getting in reading slumps. I am never bored. There is always a story that I want to read. Last year, i went through a really bad reading slump. It seemed to go on forever. By reading multiple books, I find that my interest is always held. The various stories are always there depending on what mood I am in.

Do you read multiple books?

Leave a Reply

