Book Review · Uncategorized

Book Review: Everything, Everything

Everything-Everything-298x450

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Published: 2015

Publisher: Random House

I thought this book was pretty interesting. I really liked the concept of the book. While sickness isn’t a new concept. The ultimate twist of the story was a great idea. Unfortunately, for me, I figured out the twists quite a few chapters before, but that didn’t take away my appreciation for a good story idea.

The thing that I really loved about the story was that Maddy was a diverse character. As with many other stories, until stated other wise I often assume the protagonist is white. This often is true, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that she was a mix of Asian and African descent. I think it would have been nice for the author to go into more of a culture description, specifically for the mother since she was the present parent.

I also liked that Olly had a rough family life. It added a different dimension while also helping to drive Maddy to take control of her life. I really enjoyed Maddy’s innocence. There were many times where I felt her frustration. To be 18 and having being babied would drive anyone crazy, it is actually one of my pet peeves. I liked that Noon maintained this aspect of the story. I sometimes find that authors start with a concept and seem to forget about it, but Noon maintained Maddy’s innocence well.

I have very mixed feelings on the style of the book. Some pages were only a sentence long or a quick IM conversation between Olly and Maddy. While I thought that was cute, it also frustrated me because I would have liked more “story” rather then little bits of writing on a page.

All in all I enjoyed the book. I didn’t think it was the greatest, but still entertaining. I finished the book in one day, so it is a pretty quick read. Have you read Everything, Everything? If so, let me know what you think! I would love to hear from you. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Everything, Everything

Leave a Reply

