Book Review · Uncategorized

Book Review: Dumplin’

Dumplin

Rating: 4 out of 4 stars

Title: Dumplin

Author: Julie Murphy

Published: 2015

Publisher: HarperCollins

I have finally gotten the chance to read this book. I have heard such great reviews about this book and was excited to finally get a chance to read it. All in all this was a great story. I wouldn’t say it was my favorite book, but it was a nice light read.

In the beginning I was displeased that Dumplin’ seemed to be the tag along fat friend. She seemed to be there to make her friend, El, feel and look better about herself. That aspect soon changed. Upon deciding to enter the pageant, Dumplin’s circle of friends quickly changed, even once her and El reconciled. I loved that the group consisted of people from all walks of life. I find that often in teen books they make the group all identical, but Murphy steered away from that.

I also liked that though the book was primarily about the struggle of an overweight girl in our judgmental society, all of the characters were relatable in some way. Even the popular crowd showed there insecurities and issues that they have with themselves. It is often easy to believe that only a certain type of person can be insecure, but that is hardly the case. Murphy highlighted this in characters such as El and Mitch.

I really enjoyed how the characters were mature, but not overly mature that it made them seem unreal. While I enjoy many YA books like John Green, I often find myself baffled by the teenagers. They often seem otherworldly, entertaining but unbelievable. Murphy had characters such as Dumplin’ who were mature, yet still showed their immaturity as many teens will be at some point.

Spoiler***

I really liked that Dumplin’ didn’t win the pageant. I think if she had it would have been disappointed, as odd as that sounds. It was great that they all made it that far, but it would have been unbelievable for them to take the pageant by storm and win.

*********************************************************************

 

All in all I really liked this book. It was a quick read an one that I think is great if you need something to read and want a cute story.  There was real growth in all of the characters which made for a complete resolution. I wasn’t left wondering about anything or displeased. If you haven’t read Dumplin’ I suggest you give it a try.

Have you read Dumplin‘? What did you think? I would love to hear from you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

