Random Ramblings · Uncategorized

2016 Goals and Challenges

I haven’t had this blog for very long. Quite frankly, until recently, I was pretty ignorant about the online book community in general. I am just now really learning about Goodreads. I know! I am so late. With that being said, I don’t really know how I feel about reading challenges yet. I think in general it is a cool idea and a way to expand on what you read, but in general, I don’t know if I am ready for a year long challenge like that. Instead, I am thinking of doing monthly challenges and incorporating that into my reading goals for 2016.

“Challenges” I will continue with:

-I still plan on reading classics. I have enjoyed doing that so far and have no intention of stopping. I don’t know exactly how many I want to read in total, but I want to continue that.

– I was embarking on rereading certain books, and unfortunately life has gotten in the way and I have only reread The Help. I still want to reread The Memoirs of a Geisha, Wicked, and Little Bee.  I hope to complete those in the coming months.

Challenges:

I have seen these floating around lately and even people who have created there own. I think this is a cool idea, but I know they most likely will not work for me. I like change, I like to start new things a lot. I think for me I am going to have a monthly challenge. Something that comes to me during the previous month. I have a lot of interests and know that I need to change things up.

I will be signing up for the Goodreads book reading challenge. I know I read a lot of books, but I like that I can finally keep track of them and know how many I have read.

Goals:

Now, on to goals!

Harry Potter Series: I am sooooo late with these! I read up until the 4th one, but did not finish the last three. I read them when they first came out all those years ago. I want to read them all. Not sure how I will squeeze them in, but I hope to read them during 2016.

Large books: I have still not finished 1Q84! Everytime my fiance sees me pick up another books he says “What about 1Q84???!!!” So, I must get this read ASAP! Large books are my enemy, but I want to get passed that. I always want to read Les Miserables. It is a large book and I have yet to read it. I ordered a copy with my Barnes and Noble gift card. These are the two main large books that I want to read this year, but more will likely cross my path.

Pride and Prejudice: I don’t know why, but I am dying to read this book. Yet, it makes me cringe. I started to read it years ago, but found “classic” novels very boring. Since then, my view has change, but I have yet to pick this up again. I want to finally read it. I know Austen is not for everyone, but I want to get through this work successfully.

Lastly,

Young Adult Books: I have seen numerous posts where people discuss YA books. I love them, but find that I often wonder what others would think of a grown woman reading books made for YA. In 2016 I am saying “Screw it” and reading what I want. YA is just a category it doesn’t stop a story from being good. I want to read a lot more YA books. There are so many that tackle important issues, especially about body image and self esteem. I am looking forward to reading more of them.

Sorry this post was so long. What do you hope to accomplish in 2016? I would love to hear from you! 🙂

11 thoughts on “2016 Goals and Challenges

  1. OH MY GOODNESS HARRY POTTER GETS SO GOOD BEGINNING WITH THE FIFTH BOOK! Have so much fun with those! 🙂 Pride & Prejudice gets better with every read. I didn’t like it the first time I read it. Now it’s one of my favorite books. I hope you like it! Best wishes for the New Year. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These challenges can be a commitment, but I figure that we should just have fun with it :). I will be taking part in one: the women’s classic literature event. You have a nice list of classics that you want to read on your blog, and your bookish goals sound fun. Happy Reading in 2016! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a good point to just have fun with it. I hear the word challenge and want to put on war paint, but it shouldn’t be like that. Women’s classic literature sounds like a good idea. I know classics I read tend to be primarily by men, which also speaks of the time and what it meant to be a woman. Thanks! Happy reading and New Years to you :-)!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. There’s nothing wrong with a grown woman reading young adult!

    They are only called YA because that age group tends to read them, but anyone whole loves romance and the supernatural on occasion will enjoy young adult books.

    Good luck with these goals!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. GoodReads is brilliant at times. I rely on it mostly to check reviews before buying books. Also, YA is brilliant. I’m 24 and shamelessly steal the YA books that my baby sister buys for herself ^_^

    I’m aiming for a hundred books as my reading challenge for this year! Managed to read 98 last year.
    I miss the good old student life days where I could just stay in bed all day and read 😦

    Like

    1. I’m still trying to get used to actively using GoodReads. I think about it for two seconds then forget to update it. YA books are really good! We shouldn’t be ashamed to read them. I too miss the old student life. Things were so much easier. Lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

