Book Review · Uncategorized

Book Review: Letting Go

images

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars

Title: Letting Go

Author: Kimberly Wenzler

The Buchanans are living an idyllic life on Long Island. Max is a successful author, Lucy is his supportive stay-at-home wife, and their only child, Sammy, is the center of their world.

On February 1, 2007 their lives change forever.

A year later, Max is hiding behind writer’s block—shuffling through daily life with minimal effort while eight-year-old Sammy devises his own process of dealing with his upturned world. His secret conversations with his mother give him the strength to adjust to his new life and new family dynamic.

When trouble at school brings Max and Sammy’s teacher together, Max is torn between awakened feelings of need and desire and the love he still harbors for his wife. Sammy forms a closer bond with Benjamin, the troubled teen across the street, who suffers from the pain of his past and plays a dangerous, illegal game. And Lucy, watching as her family unravels, is helpless. Or is she?

**I received a free copy from the author, Kimberly Wenzler, in exchange for a honest review**

When I first read the description, I was not sure I would like this book. I generally don’t care for stories of this nature. While it was not my cup of tea, I did like the story.

The biggest thing that I did not like was that I didn’t really feel a connection with the characters. Now, I don’t know if that was just my preference in the books I read, but I didn’t really feel a connection to any of the characters. I didn’t really feel as if I knew anything about them. I was also a bit confused by the wife. I wasn’t sure if she was okay with her husband’s situation or not. One page she would be okay with it the next she would be harboring anger. In a sense, I guess this make sense for someone in her situation, but it left me a bit confused.

There were 2 twists that really through me for a loop, which I liked. The first one came in the beginning of the novel. I let out a loud “What?!?!?” when I read it. The second one came at the end. I was so confused as to why there were chapters about the neighbor, who often babysat their son, but when I read the ending I was shocked. I also wasn’t expecting the ending of Max and Hope. I actually really liked that part.

I don’t know if it is due to the recent loss of my father or me being a mother myself, but there were many parts that left me feeling watery eyed, especially when they were memories of her and Sam.

All in all this was a pretty good read. It is not the sort of novel that I would pick up and I felt bored at times, but that is just me. I think that from the description you would be able to tell if you would enjoy the story line. I did recommend it to a few people who enjoy similar stories. They have not read it yet, but I believe that they would enjoy it.

**Thank you Kimberly for giving me the opportunity to review your book** 🙂

Has anyone else read Letting Go? What were your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

