Book Review · Uncategorized

Book Review: Coraline

coraline

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars

Title: Coraline

Author: Neil Gaiman

Published: 2002

While chatting with the lovely RedHeadedBookLover last night, she mentioned the book Coraline by Neil Gaiman as being a pretty good read. As I was looking for something else to read, I decided to give it a shot. I wanted something that was a quick read and get me out of the impending reading slump I was feeling coming on. This book did the trick. The e-book was only 195 pages long. As it is written for children, reading it was a breeze.

I saw the movie Coraline a number of years ago, and watched it again recently. While there were many similarities between the movie and the book, there were far more differences. I find I prefer the movie.

In the movie, I really liked the character Wybie. He was a comical edition to the story. He also provided someone else Coraline’s age in the story. You got to the story behind the house from his side and Coraline’s. I think he would have been great in the book as well.

In the book, Gaiman made The Other Mother, or beldam, scary from the beginning. While reading it her description gave me the creeps. This confused me a bit because it made me wonder would entice a child to stay there? Having her much more pleasant, like in the movie, is what made Coraline return a number of times before she realized the problem.

One cool thing that I really enjoyed about the book is that it took place in London. I love seeing the language differences. I noticed with a lot of British writers they have a certain style. It is very evident to me in writers such as Neil Gaiman and Ronald Dahl. I also liked the ending of the book. Having there be a little more after she escaped was nicer then the book suddenly ending and wrapping up once she left the beldam.

All in all I enjoyed the work. I think if I didn’t see the movie first, I would have given this book a 4 out of 4 stars.  I know I often overlook Junior Fiction because it is geared towards such a young age, but works like these are often nostalgic and simply fun to read. I would recommend this book for children and adults. It is a spooky tale

What are your thoughts on Junior Fiction? Do you enjoy it? If so, what is your favorite?

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Coraline

  1. I enjoyed reading this so much and thank you for mentioning me! This makes me so happy. Just like you, I saw the movie before and I have to admit that I do prefer the movie, just for the fact that it is such an incredible and creepy watch. Wybie was such an amazing edition and just like you, that is why I loved the movie so much. I actually watched the behind the scenes and the director said he did that because it meant Coraline wouldn’t be talking to herself all the time! I just only wish that Neil gaiman created Wybie because I feel that that would have made the book so much better!
    Just like you I never read juvenile reads, however, this is such a creepy and intriguing read that I couldn’t resist. Plus, I love Neil gaiman!
    Anyway! Well done for writing such an amazing post I loved it and I am seriously impressed at how fast you read this and wrote a review for it! I admire you (:

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are so welcome, you deserve all the praise and so much more. I actually haven’t read stardust yet! However I did see the movie and loved it so much. Have you seen the movie? (:

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

