Reading the Classics · Uncategorized

Reading the Classics #4: Of Mice and Men

of mice and men

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars

Title: Of Mice and Men

Author: John Steinbeck

Written: 1937

I read Of Mice and Men in high school, but did not remember much of the story. When I first picked up the book I was shocked to find that it was only 103 pages. I did not realize that it was so short. Now, I am not a fan of short novels or short stories. I never feel as if I really get a chance to know the characters. Well, I was pleasantly surprised with this book.

From the beginning my heart went out to Lennie. He was just like a child. He was curious about the world, and like all kids could get rough. Luckily for Lennie, he had a man friend like George who could look after him. The one thing that really stood out to me was how George felt he needed to be the one to shoot Lennie. Just like Candy felt he should have been the one to kill his dog, George felt Lennie was his responsibility and he should take care of him. He knew that if he let Curly get to him Lennie would be worst off. I admit that the final scene made my eyes tear up. Although the story was short I felt that John Steinbeck did a great job of painting a picture of all of the characters. I was able to get a feel of the kind of men and women the story was comprised of.

I don’t have much to say about this story as it was so short, which is the one reason I could not give it 4 stars. I do not like short stories. The leave me feeling very blah in the end. They end so quickly that they don’t often leave much of an impact on me.

What do you think of Of Mice and Men? Have you ever read it?

4 thoughts on “Reading the Classics #4: Of Mice and Men

  1. I’ve just finished studying this for school a few months ago, and although I wasn’t a fan at first, I rather like it now; especially because after studying it thoroughly, I feel like I understand the motifs etc so much more. I should be seeing OMAM performed as a play in February, which I’m really looking forward to 🙂

    Like

    1. I do vaguely remember not liking it the first time I read it. I think like you, now understanding things such as motifs I was able to enjoy it more now that I am older.
      That should be fun to see it as a play. I generally find that I like plays, even though I don’t get to see very many. I hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

