Random Ramblings · Uncategorized

A Month of Rereads

reading-icarly

 

I can honestly say that it is very rare if ever that I reread a book. I don’t know why it is just one of those things that I do not do. Well, I am going to change that. As I have gotten older, a lot of books that I enjoyed when I was younger I am curious to see if I will feel the same about them now. There are also books, that I didn’t feel I fully absorbed. For the month of December I guess you can say I am re-gifting some great books to myself. Every Friday, I will be reviewing a book I have previously read and seeing if I still feel the same about the work.

Wicked by Gregory Maguire – I read this approximately 5 or 6 years ago. I enjoyed the book, but don’t feel I got the full story. Books that I really absorb I can remember for years as if I read them yesterday, but this book I cannot do that. So, I decided to add this to the list.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – I absolutely LOVED this book. It was not until recently that I heard that there was controversy surrounding this book and the writing. I don’t remember feeling negatively about it, but I will say I have become a different person since reading it all those years ago. I will admit I was very jaded about race relations and what it meant to be a African American, even as a woman of color myself. I want to see if I will feel any differently about this work.

Little Bee by Chris Cleave – Loved it, loved it, looooooved it! Hoping I still feel the same.

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden – I was approximately 15 years old when I read this. I don’t remember much of this book. I remember liking it, but recently a friend of mine read it and said she didn’t like it! We generally have similar tastes in books. I am wondering if my mind will be changed this time around.

How do you feel about rereading books? Are there any that you can read over and over again? I would love to hear about them :-)!

8 thoughts on “A Month of Rereads

    1. I haven’t had the chance to read Incendiary yet. Maybe I will give it a try soon. What I do remember of the book, I though it was great that as a man he was able to right from a woman’s perspective. I know that may sound weird, but I often find that there are times when men write as women they don’t always get it right.

      Like

  1. Memoirs of a Geisha is honestly one of my favourite books of all time. I read it when I was a teenager as well! And since then I’ve probably read it five or six times. I keep it on my bookshelf and it’s a go-to of mine whenever I run out of something to read. Seriously, a fantastic choice!

    Like

  2. I actually watched the movie and it was a very emotional experience for me, I am still not ready to relive it in a book form. Plus, the one edition that my library has is huge and has a tiny font, and since it’s the end of the year and I am in midst of my finals, a lighter and shorter books are my best beat.
    https://materialismandvanity.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. Oh gotcha! That makes sense. I remember watching the movie, but I don’t remember much about it. I remember my mom crying and I didn’t know why. This was many years ago of course and that is one of the reasons I want to reread it. Good luck with your finals 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

