Book Review · Uncategorized

Book Review: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

abraham lincoln vampire hunter

http://www.amazon.com/Abraham-Lincoln-Vampire-Seth-Grahame-Smith/dp/0446563072/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1448885836&sr=8-2&keywords=abraham+lincoln+vampire+hunter

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars

Title: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

Author: Seth Grahame-Smith

Published: 2011

Publisher: Hachette

ISBN: 97814555101177

“My baby boy…” she whispers before dying. Only later will  he grieving Abe learn that his mother’s fatal affliction was actually the work of a vampire. Gifted with his legendary height, strength, and skill with an ax, young Lincoln sets out on a path of vengeance that will lead him all the way to the White House. 

While Abraham Lincoln is widely lauded for saving the Union and freeing millions of slaves, his valiant fight against the forces of the undead has remained in the shadows for almost two hundred years–until Seth Grahame-Smith stumbled upon the Secret Journal of Abraham Lincoln. Now, using the journal as a guide, Seth reconstructs the true life story of America’s greatest president. For the first time ever, he reveals the hidden history behind the Civil War–and uncovers the role vampires played in the birth, growth, and near-death of the nation. 

I first came across this title when it was made into a movie. My brother kept talking about this great movie with Abraham Lincoln as a vampire hunter. I couldn’t comprehend that as a movie concept. It left me scratching my head wondering “who in the world would make a movie like that?”

britney-confused.gif

Then recently while browsing the library shelves I found out it was a book! I heard such great reviews about the movie I figured sure, why not give it a try? Well, I was not disappointed.

This book was actually really good. From the beginning I was drawn in. When I was not reading it, I was thinking about reading it. I think it was very well written. It was a combination of journal writing and narration. With the way it was written, I was honestly beginning to feel as if it were true! I enjoyed the writing style immensely. It was heavily riddled with facts about Abraham Lincolns acquaintances and life. Much research went into this book and it was done very well.

After all that praise, I could not give this book a 4 out of 4 stars. If there is one thing I hate about American history and the way it is taught in our schools is that they often teach inaccurate information to make certain people look better. Abraham Lincoln is one of them. Yes, Abraham Lincoln signed the Emancipation Proclamation which later led to emancipation, but he did not free all slaves and he was not an abolitionist, in fact, Lincoln did not see blacks and whites as equals. He saw it more of a problem from an economic standpoint. The Emancipation Proclamation came with stipulations that only slaves able to fight in the Civil War could meet, if they were lucky enough to survive. You can read about it here.

With that being said, all of the research gone into the work, it would have been nice for the author to use the truth. From the beginning the author has Abraham Lincoln despising slavery and being sickened by the sight of slave auctions and simply hating the institution of slavery. It really annoyed me throughout the books entirety. If I could change one thing about the book, that would be it.

All in all, it is a good book. It was entertaining from beginning to end. Apparently the author has written other novels like this. He writes a lot of parodies. I can see myself reading more of his work in the future.

Have you read this book or seen the movie, or read anything else by Seth Grahame-Smith? If so, what did you think?

Leave a Reply

