Uncategorized

Dearly Devoted Dexter Book Review

Dexter

http://www.amazon.com/Devoted-Lindsay-published-Vintage-Paperback/dp/B00ES242B4/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1448055592&sr=8-6&keywords=dearly+devoted+dexter

Rating: 2 out of 4 stars

Title: Dearly Devoted Dexter

Author: Jeff Lindsay

Publisher: Random House

Published: 2005

Life’s tough for Dexter Morgan. It’s not easy being the worlds only serial killer with a conscience, especially when you work for the Miami Police. To avoid suspicion, Dexter’s had to slip deep into his disguise: spending time with his girlfriend and her kids, slowly becoming the world’s first serial killing couch potato.

Then a particularly nasty psychopath starts cutting a trail through Miami–a killer whose twisted techniques leave even Dexter speechless. When his sister Deborah, a tough-as-nails cop, is drawn into the case, it becomes clear that Dexter will have to come out of hiding and hunt the monster down. Unless, of course, the killer finds him first …

I know I am late on the Dexter Craze, but I am not one to watch tv. I often wait until the show is on Netflix or Hulu then binge watch until my little heart is content. It is only in the past month or so that I have started watching Dexter, thanks to the coaxing of my boyfriend. I got to season 3 when I discovered that the show was based off of books! I was super excited. Unfortunately my library did not have the first book in, so I picked up a copy of the second one in the series. I figured if I had been watching the show I would be able to fill in any blanks from the book.

Unfortunately, I was kind of disappointed with the book. In the show, we can tell Dexter is different but there is a certain charm to him, I did not feel much of that in the book. It was often stated that he was charming, but I didn’t get a sense of that. He just seemed constantly awkward. Granted, there were many occasions where his awkwardness and dry humor led to funny lines, it mostly made me cringe and feel embarrassment for him.

I found a lot of the book not particularly enticing. I found that I began to force myself to read and finish the book, I didn’t feel much of an inkling to do so. I think the biggest problem is that I did not like any of the characters. Dexter was okay, but I didn’t like Deb, his sister, I definitely didn’t like Doakes, I didn’t like Masuka, and Angel’s character was so stereotypical Hispanic it was painful and just seemed like a joke.

The only reason I gave this 2 stars is that I did like the premise. I like anything involving murder and mystery. I really do like the concept of Dexter and the book at least held that for me. Other then that I didn’t feel much suspense or drama. Maybe I am expecting to much because I loved the show so much, but I think in this instance the show really brought the story and Dexter to life. It made the characters much more relatable and enjoyable. Not to mention Dexter is a cutie in the show.

dexter

 

If you liked the show, maybe you will like the book. If you haven’t seen the show, the books may be a great place to start to get an idea of what Dexter is about. I thought of getting a copy of book 1, but after reading this one I don’t think I will be picking up another Dexter book.

If you have seen Dexter or read the books, I would love to get your thoughts! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Dearly Devoted Dexter Book Review

Leave a Reply

