Uncategorized

A Daunting Task Ahead

Sigh…

My lovely boyfriend bought me a copy of 1Q84 approximately 2 months ago. I have had my eye on this book for a while. I loved the cover and how odd page numbers are written backwards. I have heard great reviews on the book, but did not really know what it was about. Just seeing the cover, never in person mind you, I knew that I wanted to read this book. When I saw the copy on the shelf at Barnes & Noble I got super excited. And then, I pulled it off the shelf and was shocked to find it quite heavy. I flipped to the last page and found out it was 1157 pages long.

 200_s

Nonetheless, that is one of the books I chose to go home with that day. I felt I had put this book on the back burner long enough and have finally decided to  read it. Unfortunately it’s size seems to be a deterrent for me. I read all 4 of The Game of Thrones, which are large, with no problem, but find that I still tend to shy away from large books. Stephen King, one of my favorite authors, wrote a book, The Stand, it is over 1000 pages long. I got about half way through and have yet to finish it. I don’t know what it is, but for the most part I don’t finish large books. I am really enjoying 1Q84 but find that I don’t pick it up nearly as often as I should, or would a smaller book. I am determined to finish it and write a review. This weekend I have nothing to do. I am dedicating it to 1Q84.

How do you feel about thick books. Do you have trouble reading them? If so, what do you to make it through?

2 thoughts on “A Daunting Task Ahead

  1. I find huge books intimidating too. I have no idea why though because I’ve read the ASOIAF/Game of Thrones books so …? I know I can read them. This is mainly the reason why i want to but the Lord of the Rings books as a trilogy, instead of a bind up as it’s supposed to be, because it’s well over 1000 pages long and I don’t think I’d read it that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

