Uncategorized

Landline Book Review

Landline

http://www.amazon.com/Landline-Novel-Rainbow-Rowell/dp/1250049547/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1446899529&sr=8-1&keywords=landline

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars

Title: Landline

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Published: 2014

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

ISBN: 9781250049377

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply—but that almost seems beside the point now. Maybe that was always beside the point. Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her—Neal is always a little upset with Georgie—but she doesn’t expect him to pack up the kids and go without her. When her husband and kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything. That night Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts… Is that what she’s supposed to do? Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

This book left me feeling how her other novels made me feel, just okay. I was entertained and chuckled here and there but did not think the story was spectacular enough for me to want to read this again in the future. I don’t feel much of anything towards the story or the characters. I guess simply because I did not understand Neal and Georgie’s relationship. He is miserable and she depends on him 100%. She even admits that he could live without her but she couldn’t live without him. I don’t want to give too much away if you haven’t read it, but I just didn’t get it. Their relationship confused me. I didn’t see why they should stay married, or have married in the first place. I guess maybe the point of it was that sometimes love can be enough for two people to stay together.

One thing I will say about Rainbow Rowell is her use of diversity. I LOVE it! She has really mastered writing outside the box when it comes to her characters. In many books we see a lot of the same cookie cutter characters, but in Landline, there are minorities, gays, lesbians, and interracial relationships. She does it so effortlessly. Many times when another race tries to write for a minority, they become these annoying stereotypes that can be very infuriating. Rowell shows that stereotypes are foolish and that one race or a person’s sexual orientation does not mean that they are only one way. On that front, I truly enjoyed her writing.

While reading this book, I kept thinking, if I could go back in time and change something what would I change? Georgie gets an opportunity that many of us wish we could have, a chance to go back and correct our mistakes or change the outcome of a situation. Gerogie is faced with this option but also faced with the dilemma about what it would do to her present.

Even though I was not thrilled with this book, I did like it. If you haven’t read it, I would recommend giving this a shot. I think for this being Rainbow Rowell’s first adult novel, she did a pretty good job.

Have you read Landline? If so, what did you think? I would love to know!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Landline Book Review

  1. Hi! I haven’t read Landline but would like to, I have just read Rowell’s Eleanor and Park and reviewed in on my blog. I have also heard good things about her other book, Carry On. Have you read that one?
    Ana

    Like

    1. Hi! Sorry it took me a while to respond. The past few days have been very busy for me. I have not read, Carry On. I heard that it was a good read and would be interested in reading it. I also read Eleanor and Park a few months ago. I have to go check out your review and see what you thought of it :-)!

      Like

Leave a Reply

