Uncategorized

The Mist Book Review

The Mist

http://www.amazon.com/Mist-Stephen-King-ebook/dp/B000WJS9UC/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1445983525&sr=1-1&keywords=the+mist+stephen+king

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars

Title: The Mist

Author: Stephen King

Publisher: Penguin

Published: 1980

David Drayton, his son Billy, and their neighbor Brent Norton head to the local grocery store to replenish supplies following a freak storm. Once there, they and other local citizens are trapped by a strange mist that has enveloped the town and in which strange creatures are lurking. As the mist takes its toll on the nerves of those trapped in the store, a religious zealot, Mrs. Carmody begins to play on their fears to convince them that this is God’s vengeance for their sins and that a sacrifice must be made and two groups—those for and those against—are aligned. When it is realized that staying in the store may prove fatal, a small group including the Draytons, store employee Ollie Weeks, Amanda Drumfries, Irene Reppler, and Dan Miller attempt to make their escape. They find that what’s “out there” may be worse than what they left behind. Source

 

As I have said on numerous occasions, I LOVE Stephen King! I don’t think there is anything that I have read of his that I did not like 100%. To rate this 3 out of 4 stars pained me. I really enjoyed the story, but wish there were more details. Granted, this story is a novella. It was first published in an anthology of his entitled Skeleton Crew. It being a novella, there was no time for deep explanations explaining what caused the mist and what the creatures in the mist were. For me personally, I do not like novellas, but could never remember why. After reading The Mist, now I remember. I don’t like being left with a lot of questions. I don’t like not having a100% understanding of what happened in the story.

Despite the lack of some descriptions, I found that I made somewhat of a connection with the characters particularly Billy, the 5 year old son of David Drayton. I don’t know if it is because I have a 5 year old, but whenever he cried or was upset I felt horrible. I couldn’t imagine having a child in that situation and being trapped in a store with the things of nightmares outside the door. I liked that King seemed to draw from real life. Whenever there are hostage situations or people trapped, we later read about the different fractions of people and how they handled the situation. That is exactly what happened in the store. I couldn’t imagine the stress those in the store could have felt and how it was handled.

While the book left me with many questions and unsatisfied, I do think it is still a great story. There were many moments where I was on edge wondering what was going to happen next. The ending was very ambiguous. There was no resolution. It was left up to the reader. While I think this is a pretty interesting concept, I would have liked a resolution. All in all I would recommend this book. I know plenty who enjoy novellas and short stories; if you enjoy them I would definitely give this a try. I think this is also a great quick read that for the most part kept me entertained.

How do you feel about novellas and short stories? Also, if you have read The Mist let me know what you think! 🙂

Leave a Reply

