Uncategorized

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Book Review

Miss Peregrines

http://www.amazon.com/Miss-Peregrines-Home-Peculiar-Children/dp/1594746036/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1445893412&sr=8-1&keywords=ms.+peregrine%27s+home+for+peculiar+children

Rating: 4/4 stars

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Publisher: Quirk Books

Published: 2013

ISBN: 9781594746031

A orphanage and a strange collection of very curious photograps. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, wehre he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children who once lived here-one of who was his own grandfather-were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may been quarantined on a desolate island for a good reason. And somehow-impossible though it seems-they may still be alive. Source

    miss peregrines 3       miss peregrines 2

I had been hearing so many great things about this book. After enough positive recommendations, I decided to give it a shot. The first thing that drew my attention was the pictures. I absolutely love the pictures. The black and white photos were very eerie, but added a great element to the story. It was like a picture book for adults / young adults.  When I first got a copy of the book, I immediately flipped through the pictures and was so creeped out by the pictures. It was like looking back in time at photos for a old circus act. While the pictures were eerie, I soon found that I really enjoyed the characters. They were not the creepy children that they seemed. They were witty and kept me entertained from beginning to end.

One of the things that I found very relatable about this story was the idea of fairy tales. Growing up our parents, teachers, and friends tell us fantastical stories from the boogeyman all the way Santa Claus. We all reach an age when we began to realize that these stories aren’t true. We begin to see the world as less of this magical place and more of what it really is. I couldn’t imagine what I would if everything I had heard as a child was suddenly true. I couldn’t imagine there truly being a monster under the bed, or a big fat man that came into my house every December. I don’t know how I could process that information. This is essentially what Jacob had to do. Unlearn everything he learned about the world begin to realize that there truly were monsters that walked amongst him.

I think this is a great book. For me, I know it was really good because I want to read the second book of the trilogy. The one thing that I wish about this book is that I thought it would be more suspenseful. With the photos, I thought that there could have been more of a horror element to the story. Granted, this is only the first installment. Now that the premise of the story is established, book two may be more suspenseful. I don’t know if I will review the second book, but I would highly recommend at least reading the first book. This is one of those books that everyone would enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Book Review

  1. I loved this book 😀 mainly for the photographs – they just added such an interesting element to the story. When I was reading I couldn’t wait to see the next photo to see how it was explained!

    Like

Leave a Reply

