Uncategorized

The Strain Book Review

The Strain

http://www.amazon.com/Strain-Guillermo-Del-Toro/dp/0062068253/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1445434665&sr=8-2&keywords=the+strain

Rating: 4/4 stars

Title: The Strain

Author: Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan

Publisher: HarperCollins

Published: 2009

At New York’s JFK Airport an arriving Boeing 777 taxiing along a runway suddenly stops dead. All the shades have been drawn, all communication channels have mysteriously gone quiet. Dr. Eph Goodweather, head of a CDC rapid response team investigating biological threats, boards the darkened plane…and what he finds make his blood run cold.

A terrifying contagion has come to the unsuspecting city, an unstoppable plague that will spread like an all consuming wildfire—lethal merciless, hungry… vampiric. 

And in a pawnshop in Spanish Harlem an aged Holocaust survivor knows that he war he has been dreading his entire life is finally here…

In honor of Halloween coming up, I have decided to start reading some horror reads. I am not a fan of horror movies but have always enjoyed a good horror book. I find them to be scarier when I have to use part of my imagination to create a picture. I had heard of The Strain, but had never actually watched the miniseries or read the books. This is a trilogy and The Strain is the first installment. I found this book to be a great first book. It was a great balance of horror and suspense.

I really enjoyed the suspense aspect. There was more than one occasion while reading this that my phone going off or hearing a noise around the house made me jump out of my skin. The authors were great at creating suspense and holding my interest. I really liked how they focused on specific families so the reader was able to track the progression of the virus and the family.

I really liked the main characters. I think they all brought something to the table and the team. I think that the authors wove in their stories very well. You were able to get a sense of who they were and what they were about, especially Dr. Eph Goodweather. As the novel progressed I really began to fill sympathy for him as he tries to save his family from the Master vampire.

If you are looking for a good horror book, I would enjoy recommend this book. I am hoping to read the rest of the trilogy in the future. I am very interested in seeing how the series will end and if the team put together in this novel are able to save the world. This is the perfect book for curling up on the couch and drinking your favorite hot beverage, of course with all the lights on.

Leave a Reply

