Uncategorized

Mean Streak Book Review

Mean Streak

http://www.amazon.com/Mean-Streak-Sandra-Brown/dp/1455581151/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1444822785&sr=8-1&keywords=mean+streak+sandra+brown

Rating: 4/4 stars

Title: Mean Streak

Author: Sandra Brown

Published: July 2015

Publisher: Hachette

ISBN: 9781455581153

Dr. Emory Charbonneau, a pediatrician and marathon runner, disappears on a mountain road in North Carolina. By the time her husband, Jeff, miffed over a recent argument, reports her missing, the trail has grown cold. Literally. Fog and ice encapsulate the mountainous wilderness and paralyze the search for her. While police suspect Jeff of “instant divorce,” Emory finds herself held captive by a man whose violent past is so dark that he won’t tell her his name. She’s determined to escape from him and willing to take any risks necessary to survive. As her husband’s deception is revealed, and the FBI closes in on her captor, Emory begins to wonder if the unnamed man is, in fact, her rescuer from those who wish her dead—and from heartbreak.

This was my first time reading a book by Sandra Brown. I just happened to see it on the shelves at Target and decided to give it a try. As a lover of suspense and crime novels, I found I was not disappointed with this book. I was able to finish it one day, it hooked me. Of course, my favorite character was the unnamed mystery man that helped Emory throughout the novel. I liked that the characters were different. While, of course, there were characteristics of them that were slightly redundant, but they were still interesting enough to hold my attention.

I really enjoyed the various twists in the plot. Throughout the novel, we have these preconceived notions of the characters and towards the end we begin to see them in a different light, you begin to see them for who they really are. It is the revelation of the true characters that make the twists more shocking than expected. When I first opened the book, I assumed it would be strictly about crime, but there was also an underlying love story in the mix. I found it to be a nice surprise. In a way, the ending became a bit predictable, because of course when a love story is written in the mix it is almost inevitable that the two involved will end up together.

The only thing that I wish was slightly different about this book is depth. As the novel continued I began to see it less and less original. While a bit of a downer, I think the slight predictability is what kept me reading. I continuously wanted to know what happened next, what makes this different from others? All in all, I don’t think I would change anything about the novel or the characters.

I think this is the perfect book for a rainy day. Although thick, it is a fast read and will keep you hooked. It was definitely a page turner. You will love some of the characters, while absolutely despising others. I think I will be picking up other Sandra Brown novels in the future. If you like crime, romance, and hunky guys, I would give this a try.

Leave a Reply

