Uncategorized

The Paper Magician Review

The Paper Magician

http://www.amazon.com/Paper-Magician/dp/1477823832/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442418279&sr=8-1&keywords=the+paper+magician

Rating: 4 Stars

Title: The Paper Magician

Published: September 2014

Publisher: 47North

ISBN: 9781477823835

Favorite quote: “You see, Ceony, we’re more alike than you may think.” – The Paper Magician page 214

Permanently bonded to paper for life, young Magician in Training, Ceony Twill, must learn the art of enchanting paper, her least favorite element. She is to work under the perculiar Magician Emery Thane. He soon teaches her that paper magic can be more exciting then she expected. Under a month into her teachings, Emery has his heart ripped out of his chest by Liar, a strong and powerful Excisioner, a practicioner of flesh magic. It is up to Ceony and her paper dog, Fennel, to save Emery before he dies. She must travel through the chambers of Emery’s still-beating heart to save him and defeat Liar. The question is, can she do it?

I found this book to be very unique. In the first few pages I was unsure if this was going to interest me. By the end of chapter 2, I could not put the book down. I was nearly late taking my daughter to school because of this book. I found the story to be extremely unique. The elements of the plot were like nothing I have ever read before. There are countless stories about magic and magicians, but I have never read one such as this. The journey that Ceony must take and traveling through his heart was genius on Holmberg’s part.

I found it interesting that we do not know the year that this story takes place. I had to figure it out on my own. I strangely liked this. There were hints all throughout the story. At one point Emery says “mythical phones”, so we know this was prior to the creation of phones. It is not until we see that Emery graduated in 1889 that the math is able to be done to figure out the story had taken place in 1901. This mystery was interesting to me. All in all I would highly recommend this book. I was able to finish this book in 1 day and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

